Physician Quality Reporting System or PQRS



Physician Quality Reporting System (PQRS) formerly known as the Physician Quality Reporting Initiative


The Physician Quality Reporting System or PQRS is a “voluntary” reporting program mandated by Federal legislation that uses a combination of incentive payments and payment adjustments to promote reporting of quality measures information by eligible professionals. The program provides an incentive payment to eligible professionals and practices who satisfactorily report data on quality measures for covered services furnished to Medicare Part B Fee-for-Service (FFS) beneficiaries (including Railroad Retirement Board and Medicare Secondary Payer).

The period for qualifying for PQRS incentives ends December 31st, 2013. 

In 2013 there are two possible reporting periods depending upon which reporting option you choose:

12 month reporting period from Jan 1, 2013 to Dec 31, 2013

    • Claims-based reporting option
    • Registry-based reporting option of Individual Measures or Measures Group
    • EHR-based reporting option
    • Group Practice reporting option

6 month reporting period from July 1, 2013 to Dec 31, 2013

    • Registry-based reporting option of PQRS Measures Group


In 2015, the program will begin applying payment adjustments (penalties) to eligible professionals who did not satisfactorily report data on quality measures for covered professional services in 2013.

Eligible professionals do not need to sign-up or pre-register in order to participate in the Physician Quality Reporting System (PQRS). However, to avoid penalties, eligible professionals must meet the criteria for satisfactory reporting specified by CMS for a particular reporting period.

For More Information go to

Print Friendly, PDF & Email